Announcing “Crows at Twilight: An Omnibus of Tales”

I’m very pleased to announce that Crows at Twilight: An Omnibus of Tales finally reached publication on Monday, and is now available on Amazon here. And here’s the cover:

CROWS AT TWILIGHT FINAL edit6

Just four months after my previous publisher closed up shop, all the stories from Scaring the Crows and On the Edge of Twilight are now back in print in one 300-page volume, and I couldn’t be happier with it. John York and I have published it under our own “West Arcadia Press” label, and as far as I’m concerned, this is the definitive publication of these stories, and the culmination of years of pleasurable work.

There are several aspects about the new book that are different from the original, separate publications, and in a good way. The first is that John York’s illustrations for the stories in Scaring the Crows, originally reproduced on a very small scale, are now given the full-page treatment, so all the little details John included can finally be fully appreciated. John also created three new “crow” illustrations to space out the stories. Yet his greatest new contribution is the cover, which I believe is his finest yet. It’s hard for me to imagine ever publishing a project without his involvement, and the fact that we are still working (playing) together after five years leaves me both very humbled and very grateful.

Beyond that, this one has larger dimensions, a nice heft, and the interior has been beautifully and painstakingly formatted (and edited) by my dear friend Anne Hardin. So this is the book I always hoped to see in print some day – for better or worse, it’s exactly what I wanted. I hope you enjoy it, too.

Now it’s time to return to writing some new short stories. I’m overdue; I spent the last two summers (and much of the time between, when I had it) working on the prequel to The Uncanny Valley. I’ll let that percolate until next summer, when I plan to finally finish it off…the end is in sight. In the meantime, I have a half-dozen new story ideas that I’m eager to flesh out, and just finished my first short story in over a year, “Magic Things.” The title is from a quote by Eden Phillpotts (but often attributed to Yeats): “The universe is full of magic things, patiently waiting for our wits to grow sharper.”

Onward, and Happy Halloween!

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Announcing “Crows at Twilight: An Omnibus of Tales”

  1. Hi There Authorgregorymiller,
    Very interesting, It was pretty good introduction to see yours blog. I actually enjoyed it. good job keep it up bye dude tc
    Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

